Baltic Sea Action Group ordnar webinar om kolmarknader och kolinlagrande jordbruk. Den 3 juni, 2022, kl 9:00-11:00 (på engelska)

Webinariets innehåll och länk till anmälan:

Join us to discuss and learn on June 3rd, 2022. The webinar brings together farmer and food chain representatives, advisors and intermediaries, policy makers and other stakeholders to discuss the practical side of the carbon market from the perspective of the farmers and land managers.

Sign up here.

The webinar is organised by Baltic Sea Action Group in collaboration with the Finnish Catch-the-Carbon programme and the global 4 per 1000 initiative. The event is co-funded by LIFE CarbonFarmingScheme project* and by MULTA project**.

The Programme

June 3, 22.
Time: 9:00-11:00 CET / 10:00-12:00 EET (local Helsinki time)

9:00 (CET) / 10:00 (EET)
Opening
Laura Höijer, Managing Director, Baltic Sea Action Group

9:10 (CET) / 10:10 (EET) 
Framing of the event: Contributions from the  Finnish Carbon Action work to the EU carbon farming agenda    
Kaj Granholm, Project Manager, Baltic Sea Action Group

9:20 (CET) / 10:20 (EET) 
Reflections from the global perspective
Paul Luu, Executive secretary, 4 per 1000 Initiative

9:30 (CET) / 10:30 (EET) 
Case 1: Trading pilot with carbon credits based on organic soil amendments
Tanya Santalahti, Head of Carbon removals, Soilfood

9:40 (CET) / 10:40 (EET) 
Case 2: Naturellement Popcorn Project’s carbon payments
Jonah Ehmann, Head of agronomic operations, Nataïs

9:50 (CET) / 10:50 (EET) 
Case 3: Carbon compensation options and lessons from economics research
Markku Ollikainen, Professor emeritus, University of Helsinki

10:00 (CET) / 11:00 (EET) 
Open moderated discussion, Q&A

10:50 (CET) / 11:50 (EET)     
Key take home messages: the value of pilots and the needs for further study
Laura Höijer, Managing Director, Baltic Sea Action Group

 

* LIFE Preparatory project LIFE CarbonFarmingScheme (2021-2022). To meet the EU 2050 climate goals, the EU Commission envisions a European market for nature-based carbon sink credits. The LIFE CarbonFarmingScheme project thas investigated the preconditions and governance elements for such a market from the perspective of both the potential buyers of carbon storage credits and potential suppliers, the farmers and foresters.

** MULTA (Multi-benefit solutions to climate-smart agriculture) project (2019-2025) funded by the Strategic Research Council at the Academy of Finland. MULTA studies how carbon sequestration can be enhanced using farming practices and how soil carbon sequestration can be verified. MULTA also studies how climate-smart practices can be implemented on farms and the role of policies and economics that support carbon farming and its role in the food system, climate policy and society in general.